Skip to content

The Unbearable Heaviness of Being

My quest for the eternal lightness

No, I did not read my Bible on Christmas morning. I read David Sedaris instead. I needed a crack-up. Plus, I have to return the book to Sue soon.

And no, it was not a hangover. It wasn’t because I was still boozy to give in to Sedaris’ irreverent stories instead of being in church listening to a Christmas sermon that morning. But the truth is, I’d prefer the former to the latter.

The class attempted to explain the meaning of Easter. The Poles offered their interpretation:

‘It is, a party for the little boy of God who call his self Jesus and … oh, shit’

‘He call his self Jesus and then he be die one day on two… morsels of…lumber’

‘He die one day and then go above of my head to live with your father’

‘He weared of himself the long hair and after he die, the first day he come back here for to say hello to the peoples’

‘He nice, the Jesus’

‘He make the good things, and on the Easter we be sad because somebody makes him dead today’

Limited and problematic vocabulary. No nouns such as cross and resurrection and salvation and remission of sins. But they make a lot of sense to me.

Merry Christmas.

