Skip to content

The Unbearable Heaviness of Being

My quest for the eternal lightness

snapshot-2007-11-11-13-42-21.jpg

The beautiful Kyoto – autumn and the Grand Kabuki.

Housed in Kyoto Kaikan, the Kabuki theather is a small outfit. But the audience were all excited. The lady next to me was impressed that a young guy like me was found at the queue and it didn’t take much to understand why. I was amidst visitors like her, who has aged as much as my sofubo have. I told her I don’t understand nihon-go. Still, she was relentless. She was probably telling me that young Japanese now no longer come for Kabukis. “Maybe they are busy….” I suggested. She went on…..I nodded most of the time, understanding very little of what she had to say.

kabuki.jpg The lady made more sense to me than Kabuki did, for obvious reasons, coupled with kabuki’s usual sense of sacrificing drama and plot in favor of showing off the actor’s talents, totally unhelpful for the mind that seeks to make sense in terms of plot continuity. The Japan Times yesterday carried this story: Japanese in their 30’s are losing the plot. Didn’t take too long for me to assimilate I suppose. Perhaps there’s no plot in the first place, or is there?

