Skip to content

The Unbearable Heaviness of Being

My quest for the eternal lightness

I was told this year that I should consider performing my ummrah. My eyes bulged. But I was delighted nevertheless. My friend’s mother probably meant to tease, but I’ve always enjoyed our conversations together. I was never made to feel a stranger in their home. ‘Tuan Haji Iskandar’ had just performed his ummrah with his mother this year and last week I was not only enjoying lemang and ketupat but a full treat of their stories from Mecca. I told them I would if a kafir dhimmi is allowed to make his pilgrimage to Mecca likewise.

But here’s a mother-son family who’s impressed me with their quiet but moderate and loving expressions of their faith. A helpful friendship; amidst alarming interpretations and caricatures of Islam today. 

