Skip to content

The Unbearable Heaviness of Being

My quest for the eternal lightness

I find myself hopelessly awakened to a selfish and self-deceving humanity. But can I step out of humanity and call it despicable? Am I not part of that which I despise?

 

Lunch was spent out with a good friend to celebrate her birthday. I’d call it ‘sacred’ moment of simplicity and calmness 😉

I’m encapsulated today in this quote by Thomas Merton (Conjectures of a Guilty Bystander):

To allow oneself to be carried away by a multitude of conflicting concerns, to surrender to too many demands, to commit to too many projects, to want to help everyone in everything is itself to succumb to the violence of our times. Frenzy destroys our inner capacity for peace. It destroys the fruitfulness of our work, because it kills the root of inner wisdom which makes work fruitful.

I think I need to embrace a more meaningful perspective to my ‘connection’ with ‘otherness’.

