Skip to content

The Unbearable Heaviness of Being

My quest for the eternal lightness

brokenbridge.jpgLast night’s sleep was a struggle. 

I crawled out of bed and listened to Simon & Garfunkel’s final album, ‘Bridge Over Troubled Waters’. Was reminded how songs like this can be used for a church worship. And maybe Jeniffer Rush’s Power of Love might sound better than Hillsong’s.

In a rare display of novelty (that would be ‘inspired’ in today’s church language) the pastor convincingly explored how we are to become ‘bridges’ over the ‘troubled waters’ of the world.

I wonder what kind of bridges we have managed to build (or managed in becoming). Rowan Williams was said to have suffered a serious setback in his ‘Building Bridges’ attempt to foster Muslim-Christian dialogue (a far more noble quest for me at this moment I must say). I reflect on our own attempts in building our little bridges that connect our pulpit to the pews. 

The Archbishop of Canterbury urged that we keep our bridges in good repair, the bridges for listening and sympathy, hearing the truth from one another, learning what the other’s experience is like.

I snuggled back into bed…

